Service Learning

Community Service Learning

SFSU offers many courses that involve Community Service Learning (CSL) and the College of Liberal & Creative Arts offers a variety of courses each semester that include CSL experiences.  According to the bulletin: "Community Service Learning (CSL) is the combination of academic study with community service so that each is enhanced by the other." This allows "students to make connections between their classroom education and its appplication to the field."  One can search for such classes by entering the program offering the course and the course number and then selecting "Service Learning" in the course attribue box on the Class Schedule search.  The following courses with service learning are currently posted for the Fall 2018 semester:

Service Learning Course Taught By Contact Information
DANC 399 - University Dance Theater Wendy Diamond, Cathleen McCarthy wdiamond@sfsu.edu, cmcc@sfsu.edu
DANC 699 - Independent Study  Ray Tadio rtadio@sfsu.edu
DES 324GW - Research and Writing for Deisgn - GWAR  David Cox dcox@sfsu.edu
DES 505 - Senior Deisgn Project TBA design@sfsu.edu
DES 575 - Workshop Various Topics, Sections, and Instructors design@sfsu.edu
DES 627 - Advanced Projects in Visual Communication Design Joshua Singer jsinger@sfsu.edu
ENG 114 - First Year Composition Jolie Goorjian or Jerome Schwab (various sections) jolie@sfsu.edu, jlschwab@sfsu.edu
ENG 214 - Second Year Written Composition: English Anita Cabrera, Herman Haluza, Amy Love (various sections) acabrera@sfsu.edu, haluza@sfsu.edu, amylove@sfsu.edu
PHIL 383 - Ethics in Medicine  Anita Silvers asilvers@sfsu.edu
PLSI 463 - The Politics of Immigration in the United States Ron Hayduk rhayduk@sfsu.edu
TH A 399 - Jazz/Modern Music Combo Dianthe Spencer dspencer@sfsu.edu
WGS 698/798 - Work Study in Feminist Projects Nan Boyd alamilla@sfsu.edu

 

For more information on service learning opporunitites, please contact the Institute for Civic and Community Engagement (ICCE) at (415) 338-6419 or visit icce.sfsu.edu.

ARC staff can be reached at achieve@sfsu.edu, (415) 338-1486,
or visit us at HUM 112 Monday - Friday 9am-5pm.